St Jarlath’s Credit Union Honoured at Business All-Star Awards


The title of All-Ireland Credit Union of the year 2018-19 has been awarded to St Jarlath’s Credit Union from the All-Ireland Business Foundation

SJCU has also been awarded a Business All-Star, the first time ever that a Credit Union has been awarded one.

The All-Ireland Business Foundation is a national body which accredits best-in-class Irish businesses as Business All-Stars. It Operates on the belief that best-in-class companies should be clearly identifiable so consumers can have the utmost confidence in dealing with them.

Businesses from all over the country attended a ceremony in Croke Park on March 12th to receive their awards. Having completed the rigorous six-step adjudication process including a significant submission, interviews, and mystery shopper rounds, the Tuam-based credit union was accredited as a Business All-Star.

Such companies are recognised to be progressive, indigenous Irish business which meets the highest standards of verified performance, trust and customer centricity.

Speaking at the awards event, John Doyle from the SJCU said, “This is a very proud day for St. Jarlath’s Credit Union. To gain outside recognition of the work that is carried out in the credit union brings a real sense of pride to our team – staff, and board.”

“Members have always trusted us with their business over the last 52 years but this just adds an additional layer of trust and belief in the services that we provide. We are grateful to the All-Ireland Business Foundation for the recognition of the work that is carried out in the credit union and also to our team, our board, and our members, without whom we wouldn’t exist.”

It was a day of celebration for Tuam and the locality as not only were St Jarlath’s Credit Union honored but Cormac tagging were also awarded a Business All-Star and Sinead Canney Muldoon from Adventure Ireland was honored as a Thought Leader in Global Citizenship.

St. Jarlath’s Credit Union was established in 1967 and is one the largest community credit unions in the country with a membership of over 48,000 and assets in excess of (Euro)210 Million.

They have eight branches in Tuam, Headford, Moutbellow, Dunmore, Moylough, Turloughmore, Corrandulla, and Abbeyknockmoy.